A Word in the Hand, contest entry update

Passed the 650 word mark this morning and I wanted to share the title with you, “A Word in the Hand Beats Two in the Bush”.  I actually came up with that title before I came up with the concept for the crossword content but once you read what I did, the title becomes even another layer of humor in the story.  Long time readers of this blog know that I tend to use every part of a story to tell the story, including the title.

Where I am in the tale is the point of the reveal; however, I still need about 350 more words to be close to the thousand wore requirement of the contest.  Yes, there is some give and take with the limit, but I like to be as close as I can be.  The hard part here is fluffing the story without bogging down the pacing.  I feel I was able to mesh the extended intro into my middle piece without messing up the reading pace but now I have to do so again.  I do leave some room for post reveal filler to bring the story to a close; however, again, I don’t want to drain to much from the reveal moment to fill the word requirement.  Well, not much further.

Leave a Reply

