Sailing the Heavens Unto Dawn – Digital Painting (from my Patreon page)

Hi folks, I just wanted to give you an update on plans for my Patreon site for the near future.  After I finish the current two projects, the repaint of my old rodeo image (the cave scene) and the random planet, I plan to jump into the third in my “It’s All Connected” series featuring the cheetah, which is already drawn, the planet Mercury, and the planet Venus.  What I intend to do with this project; however, is not to just give you updates but also give patrons of my site (Robert Garbin’s Patreon page) a weekly written tutorial about the painting.

Basically, I will show my patrons every step from setting up the drawings and canvases, as well as, the reference materials to the choices I make in reaching the final product.  I will explain how I use Gimp 2.8 as a painting platform, which can be used for their own work or they can just enjoy the deeper insights into how my work comes together.  As you know at this point, I am not a professional artist or teacher, but I am not without talent and experience, much of which I taught myself.  Lessons that I would enjoy sharing with others.

This will be my first attempt at doing this, meaning another self-taught experience, so the lessons will be as much a work in progress as the painting itself.  I intend the lessons to be an introduction on both basic computer image manipulation and painting along with aesthetic choices in producing said images.   The reason I use Gimp 2.8 is because it is free and surprisingly powerful.  Professionals use more commercial programs that I can not address; however, much of the functionality will be the same so that you can transfer the lessons learned here to them.  I am only teaching the basics I use in my art.  My hope is to build an audience of artists like myself whom do not have the resources to dive deeply into computer artwork but would still like to try it.

Finally, the reason I say a written tutorial is because I do not know enough to do a professional video tutorial and not a comfortable enough person to be the focus of such a video.  As time goes on that may change but for now I will try this method.  Let me know what you think.

 

Leave a Reply

