Brave New Worlds (from my Patreon page)

Mercury courtesy of NASA

 

Finished what I needed for the Cheetah drawing tonight so I went looking for images of Mercury for an eye.  One of the things I have truly enjoyed about creating this series is that it gives me a reason to poke around in NASA files of their exploration of the solar system.  I used to keep up on this stuff because I am technically a space nut.  Painting the planets has been a real treat for me, as well as, reading up on the missions and how long they take.  The Messenger mission that produced the images I will use for Mercury was launched in 2004, did not really start its mission until 2011, and ended the mission by crashing on Mercury on April 30, 2015.  Wow.

Leave a Reply

