My God, it’s full of Stars (from my Patreon page)

Tonight I find myself contemplating stars, Star Wars stars to be more specific.  Each Science Fiction movie and television show has found their own way to depict the star filled expanse of outer space through which their iconic vehicles wander.  From Star Trek’s orbs of light streaming by to Babylon 5’s enveloping nebulae, views of outer space have been varied and beautiful.  For my Carrie Fisher tribute I decided to try to capture the kind of starry backdrop seen in the movies.  I re-watched my favorite, “The Empire Strikes Back”, yesterday to study the star fields.

Unlike the skies I have done so far, there are no obvious depictions of galaxies or nebula mixed into the star fields, yet there are areas of soft fuzzy light such as you see from a mass of stars together.  As I looked closer, I could see a layer of very diffuse stars in clumps behind much sharper stars, which created the glow.  In addition, I noticed relatively  dark areas creating splotches of darkness throughout the pattern.  Now, the trick is to try to recreate this effect decently in the painting.  You will have to let me know how I do.

Leave a Reply

