Got a Second?

Well, I think it is time for me to take a look at this issue.  No, this is not a post about the current American government, at least not in a direct way.  I promise to do my best to keep such commentary out of this post.  The issue I wish to breach is authors and politics.  Yep, I went there and so do many writers in the field excluding those that actually write about politics.  The reason this is on my mind tonight is because of a reply I saw to a post by one of my favorite authors where the commentator said “Just lost bunch of sales for your books”.

My first reaction is what a jerk, But I had to stop and think about the way I have been looking at the world lately.  I will admit that I am not very friendly right now toward people who are unwilling to respect my point of view.  If you are strongly advocating views that run the polar opposite to mine I dismiss you as you dismiss me.  Because of that I have become somewhat reclusive.  In addition, I have struggled with reading certain authors that I have become aware of their politics.  Luckily, I don’t know the views of many.

For example, I will not read one popular author who I believe I have heard has politics that run opposite of mine; however, in this case I learned this after reading one of his books.  Basically, after reading his book and not liking it, I found out about his politics, which did not surprise me.  Another author that I love was born into a Religion that I have come to find extremely questionable and at times questioned whether I should continue reading his books.  But they are very good, which brings me to another point.

By closing my mind off to writers because of their politics, what great stories might I be missing out on.  It is a fact of the human condition that people can act, think, and create in ways completely different from the persona they show the world.  For example, while acting as the chubby, lovable half of the comedic duo Abbott and Costello, Lou Costello was actually known as the un-nice person, while Bud Abbott who always played the conman was actually the friendlier of the two.  What I am trying to say here is that people are an odd mixture of hate and love, which may be something far more surprising than politics alone can illuminate.

Will I continue to struggle with authors with sharply opposing politics?  Yes, I am only human.  Will I be aware that it could be me as much as them?  Certainly.  Will I miss out on good stories?  Quite possibly.  What do I want you to take away from this post?  The sense that maybe giving other points of view a chance by at least being willing to read an author’s work even though you are aware of their politics.  I liken it to your parents telling you to at least try food before you don’t like it.  Most authors have multiple series out there, try one book and if you still don’t like them then okay.  There are numerous authors I had not read and quite half way through the book, while others became favorites that I search out now.   If you start limiting you diet, you may find yourself without new material or becoming bored and unsatisfied.

Finally, some food for thought.  Should you read an author vigorously champions political views opposite of yours and thoroughly like their writing, stop and think about it.  The fact that someone can write a book you really enjoyed believes differently then you.  In other words, something that you love came from someone you would despise.  The source is the same.  It is your viewpoint that is being challenged.  Open your mind to the possibility that their may be common ground.

As for me, guess what, I am an author.  If you have been coming to this site for some time, then you know where I am coming from.  With the launch of my Patreon page I have been struggling to find a balance between what up to that point had been my place to voice my feelings on the world as well as my creative endeavors.  One thing you would find from talking to people who know me is that I don’t sugar coat things.  What you see is pretty much what you get.  Unfortunately, I can not deny that I haven’t seen the drop in viewership in recent days.  Will I stop being who I am?  No.  I have lived to long trying to fit into other people’s worlds for that anymore.  What I can promise is that this site will be a mix of post from my Patreon page (mostly) and my feelings on what happens around me (not always about politics).  If you want to only see things about my creativity, then go to my Patreon or Deviantart pages.

To close, I would like to ask those that do not agree with my views to at least try one of my stories and if you don’t like it, unsubscribe.  It will only cost you a dollar to try and you can quit any time after the first month.  I won’t be offended or rail about you.  You may find that there are some you like and others you totally hate.  There are creators that have left me feeling that way over the years, yet I am still willing to give them a chance now and again.  Thanks for listening.

Leave a Reply

