Sometimes Magic Does Happen! (from my Patreon Page)

There are few times more enjoyable to an artist than to see their art take on a life of its own.  You tweak and strive, erase and repaint, sharpen and blur all in hopes of capturing something your brain locked onto then magic happens.  You see something more in your artwork then you ever expected to be able to place in there.  Maybe the glassy reflection in an eye looks like you need to dry it with a tissue or the bug on a log makes you want to swat it or with a slight tilt of your head the image appears to have extra dimension.  What ever the effect is, the world has become that little bit more magical.  I have experienced some of these spells in the works of others and on a few lucky occasions within my own.  One such for me is the corona around the sun in my painting “Juliette and Josephus”, which at least viewed in gimp changes aspect with the position I view it from.  There is a change almost like looking at an embedded hologram.  Another image that gave me more than I expected was “Sanity”, the cover for “Mystics and Misfits”.  The eyes in the background feel like they are floating in space if viewed right.  In each instance I had had no plan to create these effects, nor any idea that I could.  However, when I spent time studying the completed images, well …. To me that is one of the best parts of being an artist.

Leave a Reply

