When do you know? (from my Patreon page)

There are so many times when I am working on a drawing that I know just isn’t going to work.  I am putting a lot into it but it isn’t giving me a lot back.  The image frustrates me.  Other times I have that feeling until something clicks and the image begins to improve.  The hard part is understanding whether it is my own impatience to see a finished product or a case of an image grander than my hands can create.  That tenuous link between the hands and brain can seem like a vast gulf at times.  This reality is what separates artists from non-artists.  We understand this gulf, yet we continually strive to cross it.

Leave a Reply

