All that Fur

Work in Progress

Work in Progress:  Earlier

As I have mentioned before I am currently working on a digital painting of a tiger. I have always wanted to paint a tiger because they are such beautiful creatures. Also, I have a soft spot for cats.

But all that different color fur is a heck of a lot of work. More than any other big cat I have painted because of the interaction between the white, orange, and black fur. It is frustrating at times but so satisfying when it works. I love the textures and contrasts. One of these days I will paint a version of a wolverine I drew in pencil. I liked the image I found in a book about wolves because the wolverine was all dark brown with a beautiful wave of rusty red on its flank. The contrast was stunning. It reminded me of the dog from “Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man’s Chest” with the dark fur contrasted by the tan.

Will I keep doing furry critters? Yes. Will I complain and growl while doing it? Almost certainly. Will you love the results? I certainly hope so.

Leave a Reply

