Confessions of an Obsessive Thinker.

 

Mystics and Misfits Cover Final

Guess what, I spend a lot of time thinking.  You might have noticed this from the content of my blog; I’m being sarcastic of course.  Anyway, I have always been a self-contained person from childhood on and my job does not help the situation with hours of solo driving.  So it is no surprise that my writing contains very little dialogue and lots of written thoughts.

The reason I bring this up is that I am currently fixing the second anchor story in my book, which is a story written some time ago that deals with multiple dream levels.  I was happy at the time with the final edit I had reached.  However, in between the time I finished this story and began re-working it for the collection, I found someone interested enough in my writing to discuss the stories.  One point she made time and time again was the lack of dialogue in my stories.  It wasn’t that she didn’t like them, just that there was too much exposition and not enough interaction.

Lately, I have been looking at large paragraphs of informational dumps in the story and trying to think of ways to get this information across in conversations.  My thoughts, initially, were that it could not be done without sounding wooden.  Describing world building or life history in dialogue could easily come off as preachy, stiff, self-centered, boring, or aloof, at least the way I usually do it.  Right now, though, I believe I am finding a decent mix of dialogue and descriptive writing to get my background information across.  Yes, I think it is better than it was, proof that you can get a deep thinker to come out of his head to talk to you.  I just wanted to pass on some of the challenges I have been facing in my writing endeavors.  Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

