Heads or Tails

I just finished reading a cute little story about a kitten titled “Space-Time for Springers” by Fritz Lieber that reminded me of a short story I had written.  I decided to share it with you.

 

Heads or Tails

by

Robert Garbin

Skitter, Skitter.

Can’t catch me creature from the East!

Snicker, Snicker.

How nonchalant you look lying there basking in the sun.

Prance, Prance.

I saw that ear twitch, don’t deny it!

Taunt, Taunt.

I am way to fast for you and you know it!

Flaunt, Flaunt.

See the sleek shine of my dark fur; you’ll never sink your teeth into it!

Thump, Thump.

I lay down the gauntlet!

Chuckle, Chuckle.

You have met your match and you know it!

 

Brian was startled out of his reading when Sammy, his Siamese, leaped off the floor gyrating madly as he tried to catch his tail, the black mask of his face perfectly matching the sleek blackness of his tail.  A slow smile spread across Brian’s face for the silly antics of his four legged companion.  Within minutes the entire episode was over.  The Siamese lay on the floor with slightly unfocused eyes and salved his pride by washing his black mittens.  Meanwhile, his tail twitched gently with an inner mirth.

“Oh you foolish cat” thought the tail.  “We will play this game again soon.  You are just the sucker I need to fulfill my every diabolical need.”

Leave a Reply

