Dragon in Need of a Pen

Tattoo Design for my Nephew

Tattoo Design for my Nephew

 

You may not have noticed, but I am also an artist.  Actually, I am foremost an artist since I started with art and then moved into writing as my artwork got stymied.  My writing style owes much to this fact and tends to be very visually descriptive, which some people find tedious but I always enjoyed in a story if properly balanced.

The above design is my first ambitious digital work in Gimp 2.0.  However, I have run into a snag.  Not knowing if I would like or be comfortable with this new medium, I purchased an inexpensive drawing tablet (Vis Tablet’s Pen Pad).   The tablet is not bad but has one main drawback, the pen needs a battery to work and I am finding out that is uses them fast and does not like rechargeable batteries.   This makes working on the tattoo design and future projects frustrating.

There is a new pad that I like because the pen does not require a battery; unfortunately, it cost $199, which is more than I can afford.  Right now  most of the money I have is committed to finishing house repairs and is not even enough to fix everything.  So, I am turning to you, the viewer, for help.  By supporting my writing through a donation, you can also help support my artistic creativity by helping me reduce the cost of this new tablet.  This is a more recognizable goal than the vague support I asked for earlier and maybe I can work up a chart to show how much progress we have made.  Once the design is done, I will post a copy for downloading as a thank you for your support, until then feel free to download any of the spoken stories now available.  To see more of my work, follow the link in the far right column to my art page.

Leave a Reply

