The Last Dark by Stephen R Donaldson

Here is the review I posted for the last Thomas Covenant book:

The Last Dark: The climax of the entire…

The pacing is strong and the hardships are many in this concluding book of the Thomas Covenant Chronicles.  While some of the revelations are enjoyable to read, they are somewhat telegraphed, which takes some of the oomph out of them.  There are two very noticeable missing elements at the end that I would have liked to see more writing given in explanation.  I won’t reveal them for spoiler reasons but the omissions spoke loudly to me.  Also, the ending did not strive very hard to wrap up a series of the this magnitude in my opinion.  In the end, while enjoyable, the book did not leave me with a sense of awe.  I have read several books where I was left in a happy daze after finishing the book, my mind constantly reaching back and savoring passages for days.  This was not one of those books.

Leave a Reply

