Mystics and Misfits

Hello everyone.  Haven’t posted for a while because of changes at work, remodeling the place, and getting old, you know, the usual.  Anyway, I just watched the documentary about the fans of “Firefly” who banded together and created the ground swell that resulted in the movie “Serenity”.  All I have to say is that I am jealous of Josh Whedon!   Let me say that I am a fan of “Firefly” and “Serenity” even though I came to it late; however, I am still jealous.  I am jealous that he has found people who can appreciate what he is passionate about saying through his stories.

I am a writer and an artist who has no fan base yet.  Of course, I realize that my work may not be as good as others in the field and that I might be deluding myself, but I do think I have stories to tell.  The title for this post is one I hope to someday use for a collection of my short stories and also says a lot about how I have felt all my life.  Troll through my blog and you will see many examples and references to my writing and artwork.  I continually strive to improve both; unfortunately, the struggle for survival usually sucks up the time I would love to spend on each of these endeavors.

In addition, several of my stories would not find homes with publishers because they challenge many popular religious and secular ideals, including the greatness of America.  Don’t get me wrong, I am glad I was born an American, but I don’t believe that gives me the right to coast on our past and allow government, corporations, and private citizens to condone atrocities and injustice just because it is America, love it or leave it.  Also, if you have read a lot of this blog, you will note that I refer to Catholicism often, usually in a negative light.  It is not that I am either hyper-religious or atheistic but more something in between.  My stories tend to mirror this nature by showing my belief, doubts, and fears about God and my disgust with any religion that blinds itself to the evil they do through dogma and zealotry.  Again, not popular subjects for money hungry publishers who fear alienating customers.

Of course, I understand that publishers need to earn money to survive; however, I have also watched the erosion of American moral values as commerce and profit have become the driving force behind our policies making us not into a nation, but a group of individuals clawing each others eyes and hearts out to support a lifestyle that is not sustainable.  With a focus like that, it is no surprise that stories with any substance have to fight so hard to be heard while dribble gets thrown at us daily.  Basically, dribble makes loads of cash while something more substantial is far more risky.  Our society has become so much about the money, that we are willing to drown ourselves in dross instead of taking a risk on greatness, which I believe is one of the things that has destroyed our education system.

Suffice it to say that I would love someday to move people the way Josh Whedon,  J. Michael Straczynski, and Gene Roddenberry have.  Any encouragement in this endeavor is greatly appreciated.

12 thoughts on “Mystics and Misfits

    • Thanks. I have not only looked for that in my writing but also in life; however, in life I have seen people slowly come around to my way of thinking, which is one of the things that keeps me going.

  1. My idea of the publishing world is a little more optimistic than yours. I don’t think any one story fights harder than another to be heard. Sometimes success is hard work coupled with dumb luck. You can have the former on its own and find a modicum of success, and you can have the combination and enjoy a quicker path to and/or greater success, but you can’t be projected to writing fame by dumb luck alone – or at the very least, you can’t sustain it.

    I’m not sure what you mean when using the term ‘dribble’.

    • Thanks. As for dribble I may have meant drivel but the idea behind the thought is movies, books, or TV shows that are made quickly to cash in on some hot trend without regard to actual content, you know, the steaming #@$#% that Hollywood churns out. As for myself, I am not strongly optimistic about any media because I look at their track record when making my decisions. I am referring to fall of independent and fearless journalism and the rise of pundit media (Fox News), also, the strong ties the news Media has with corporate America.

      • Thanks for clarifying with examples, I suspected the dribble/drivel term might’ve applied to products with promotional value (i.e., making movies with the driving focus of selling merchandise), but to put books on the same par is a tough call. Accurate in some instances, but still tough.

        I have been writing a paranormal (vampire) fiction series (begun 2005 and now that book 5 is complete, I’m editing with intent to peddle 2014), I’m concerned about the drawback of my books being judged based on what’s trending. Is it my fault that Twilight has come out? True Blood? Vampire Diaries? Are my stories the same as those? Quite dissimilar, but I would never claim them as literary fiction. I wouldn’t say they have no plot, either. I have an advantage to go with that disadvantage: my category is ‘trending’. Paranormal Romance and Urban Fantasy is on the rise. This is good for me to take advantage of, but I run the risk of being cast aside as ‘more drivel’ and being just another ‘marketing feeding frenzy’. Did I write the books to make money and take advantage of the vampire bubble? No, because there was none of those other books/movies when I started writing.

        So I’m in an interesting place with your post/viewpoint. On one hand, I agree with what you’re saying, of the marketing machine that entertainment has become (to the point that NEWS is more concerned with ratings than imparting information, or influencing political bias – very, very sad). The other hand, the writer in me cries to think that my advantage in timing might lead to a quick dismissal, a discounting of the effort I’ve put into it, because I might’ve been lucky enough to have the right book at the right time.

        Bookshops and libraries are evidence that people still like to think. There are readers for you out there. Maybe you wouldn’t read my fiction, but I’ll certainly keep reading your posts.

        Thanks for listening.

  2. Pingback: Controversy Doesn’t Necessarily Sell | Strange Writer

    • Thanks for the re-blog and I understand your point as well, but then I look at the split that has happened in America over the last two decades. Yes, as I have written before, the darkness has always been there; however, it has become more dominant and divisive in our culture today, which media outlets do try to step lightly through. Take a look at my post on my Armageddon story “A Taste for Armageddon” and tell me how easily you think such a story would get published today.

      • I don’t think the content would scare publishers away. You’re not saying anything that hasn’t already been said about the NRA, about Catholicism, about capitalism and the military. I’ve read articles on such things, so a work of fiction shouldn’t be of concern. Admittedly, I don’t know if you’ve sought publication and what kind of feedback you’ve had.

  3. The best place to be, and the loneliest place to be, is at the head of the pack. You have to wait for the world to catch up with you. But sooner or later, it does, and what was not “commercial” yesterday becomes commercial today. Stick to your guns. Write the stories you want to write. The rest will attend to itself.

    J. Michael Straczynski

Leave a Reply

